ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

Guildhall Tuesday 19 May 2009

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr P.A. Smith) The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr Mitchell) Councillors D. Baldwin, M.A. Baldwin, Bond, Boyle, P.J. Brock, S. Brock, Choules, Coates, Cole, Mrs Danks, Edwards, Fullam, Gale, A. Hannaford, R.M. Hannaford, Mrs Henson, Hobden, Martin, D.J. Morrish, Mrs J. Morrish, Newby, Newton, Noble, Prowse, Robson, Sheldon, Shepherd, Shiel, R. Smith, W.M. Starling, Sterry, Taghdissian, Thompson, Wadham and Winterbottom

26 **ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR**

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Mrs Henson, seconded by Councillor S. Brock, that Councillor Winterbottom be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Coates, seconded by Councillor Shepherd, that Councillor Mrs R. Smith be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

28 **VOTE OF THANKS**

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor P. A. Smith and Mrs S. Smith have discharged the duties of Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during the past year.

Councillor Wadham presented, on behalf of the Council, the retiring Lord Mayor's and retiring Lady Mayoress' Badges.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Mitchell and Mr Rutland have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Escort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

27

APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED that Councillor Fullam be appointed Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

30 APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor Portfolio or Group

Fullam Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision

Cole Business Transformation and Human Resources

Newton Housing and Social Inclusion
Mitchell Environment and Leisure

Wadham Sustainable Development and Transport

Brock, Mrs S.R. Economy and Tourism

Mrs Henson Conservative

Edwards Labour Mrs Morrish Liberal

29

31 <u>APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON OTHER COMMITTEES ETC. AND THE CHAIRS AND DEPUTY CHAIRS FOR THE ENSUING YEAR</u>

Councillor Edwards nominated Councillor Choules in place of Councillor Martin on the Employee Liaison Forum and this was agreed.

Councillor Edwards moved and Councillor Sheldon seconded, Councillor Shepherd as Deputy Chair of the Planning Committee in place of Councillor D.J. Morrish. The motion was put to the vote and lost.

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be agreed.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 8.23 pm)

Chair